WELCOME TO OUR ONLINE STORE!
Cart 0

Does a gluten allergy mean wine is off the table?

It has become all too easy to forget that a gluten allergy is actually a real thing in 2017, with the very idea of it seeming more like a trend than truth, as health fads continue to take over in the western world.

For those who do actually have a gluten allergy it can be difficult to find out what you can and can’t eat or drink, so we’ll answer that question for you when it comes to wine.

Put simply, wine does tend to be classed as gluten free due to its production from grapes. The vast majority of wines contain less than 20 parts per million gluten, which is a legal requirement in the UK if a food item is to be labelled as gluten free.

If higher levels of Gluten can be found in a bottle, then producers are legally obliged to let wine consumers know as gluten is classed as a potential allergen.

For those who collect and drink vintage wine, it is important to note that this is the only real instance where gluten and wine can mix, but this doesn’t tend to be at a high enough level to really affect those with an extreme gluten allergy.

How can gluten find its way into wine during ageing we hear you ask? Wine can actually be contaminated if the winemaking team uses flour-based paste in the barrel sealing process, so it is always a good idea to double check whether the aged wine you’re purchasing is 100% gluten-free. This process, however, has become very uncommon, as most producers seek to avoid this risk by using paraffin wax to seal their barrels.



Older Post Newer Post


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published